研发管线

创新,是三叶草生物持续前进的动力。我们始终坚持开拓创新,以新药研发和生产,满足亟待解决的公共卫生和个人健康需求。应用Trimer-Tag© 技术,目前三叶草生物的研发管线聚焦传染病疫苗、肿瘤和自身免疫性疾病治疗的多个预防和治疗品种。

三叶草生物还在不断扩大研发范围,除了目前的项目外,还在评估其他三聚体依赖性疾病靶点,以依托我们专有的技术平台来更好地攻克这些疾病。

Trimer-Tag©
(蛋白质三聚体化)专利技术平台 重组蛋白亚单位疫苗
  • 早期研发
  • 临床前 / CMC
  • IND / CTA
  • I期临床试验
  • II期临床试验
  • III期临床试验
“S-三聚体” 新冠疫苗

S-三聚体

“S-三聚体” 新冠疫苗

第二代冠状疫苗

未披露

第二代冠状疫苗

狂犬病疫苗

RABV G-三聚体

狂犬病疫苗

RSV 疫苗(呼吸合胞病毒)

RSV F-三聚体

RSV 疫苗(呼吸合胞病毒)

流感疫苗

HA-三聚体

四价季度性流感疫苗
大流行性流感疫苗

HIV/AIDS 疫苗

gp120-三聚体

HIV/AIDS 疫苗

Trimer-Tag©
(蛋白质三聚体化)专利技术平台靶向及免疫肿瘤治疗
  • 早期研发
  • 临床前 / CMC
  • IND / CTA
  • I期临床试验
  • II期临床试验
  • III期临床试验
SCB-313 恶性腹水
SCB-313 恶性胸水
SCB-313 腹膜肿瘤

TRAIL-Trimer(肿瘤凋亡)

SCB-333

4-1BB Agonist Trimer Program

免疫肿瘤治疗

Fc 融合蛋白
  • 早期研发
  • 临床前 / CMC
  • IND / CTA
  • I期临床试验
  • II期临床试验
  • III期临床试验
SCB-808(依那西普类似药:预填充注射)

TNFRII-Fc

强直性脊柱炎(AS)
类风湿性关节炎(RA)

SCB-420 (阿柏西普类似药)

VEGFR1R2-Fc

湿性年龄相关性黄斑变性
(wet AMD)

SCB-219 (1类创新药)

TPO Mimetic-Fc Bispecific

肿瘤化疗相关性血小板减少症(CIT)
原发免疫性血小板减少症(ITP)

疫苗项目

在三叶草生物,我们致力于帮助应对世界上最为紧迫的公共卫生挑战。 我们相信,通过快速大规模开发重组蛋白疫苗,让有需要的人群能够尽早获得所需的疫苗,可以更好地协助应对突发公共卫生事件。 在新冠疫情期间,三叶草生物依托Trimer-Tag©(蛋白质三聚体化)技术平台,开发了一种潜在的安全有效的新冠疫苗。此外,我们还利用Trimer-Tag©(蛋白质三聚体化)技术开发狂犬病、流感,呼吸道合胞病毒(RSV)和人类免疫缺陷病毒(HIV)疫苗。

“S-三聚体”重组亚单位新冠候选疫苗项目

特点与优势:

  • 重组蛋白疫苗技术:重组蛋白疫苗技术曾经已被证明是安全有效的(流感、带状疱疹、乙肝疫苗等也有采用这一技术),可以通过使用特征明确的生产工艺迅速扩大生产规模,此外,还具有与多种佐剂兼容的优势,加强疫苗的保护作用。
  • 中和免疫反应:I期临床研究数据表明,三叶草生物的“S-三聚体”新冠候选疫苗诱导出的中和抗体水平高于先前感染新冠病毒的人群。此外,也观察到了强烈偏Th1的细胞免疫应答。
  • 安全性:在I期临床研究中,三叶草生物的“S-三聚体”新冠候选疫苗显示出良好的安全性,与应用其他方法(例如mRNA和载体疫苗)生产的疫苗有所区别。
  • 生产规模:凭借自身生产制造能力,三叶草生物每年可潜在生产超过10亿剂的疫苗抗原。
  • 储存和分发: 三叶草生物的“S-三聚体”新冠候选疫苗被证实在标准冰箱条件下具有长期稳定性,在室温条件下显示了至少两个月的稳定性,适合在全球范围内分发。

关键里程碑

狂犬病、流感、RSV和HIV项目

应用Trimer-Tag©(蛋白质三聚体化)技术开发了针对流感,RSV和HIV的重组亚基三聚体疫苗,并已证明它们在多种动物模型中都能引起保护性中和抗体应答。

狂犬病候选疫苗(RABV G-三聚体)目前处于早期开发阶段。发展中国家对狂犬病疫苗的需求很大,而这些国家的动物免疫规划还尚未成功。

流感候选疫苗 (血凝素(HA)-三聚体)已完成概念验证,在小鼠体攻毒模型中能够诱导HAI抗体免疫应答和保护性免疫(大流行和季节性)。该疫苗生产具有显著的生产速度优势(缩短了交货时间),并且不含有毒化学品,例如甲醛和防腐剂。另外,候选疫苗可以潜在地用作大流行和通用(HA-茎部)流感疫苗。

RSV候选疫苗 (融合(F)Antigen-Trimer)在小鼠免疫模型中诱导了强烈的中和抗体应答,并且对帕利珠单抗具有亚皮摩尔结合亲和力。由于目前尚无批准的RSV疫苗,因此全球范围内对安全有效的RSV疫苗的需求仍未得到满足。

HIV / AIDS候选疫苗 (gp120-三聚体)具有很强的bNAbs结合亲和力,表明重要的抗原表位得以保留,并且gp120-trimers在兔免疫模型中诱导bNAb反应。艾滋病疫苗研究的最新进展表明,天然三聚体gp120是引发广谱中和抗体(bNabs)的首选抗原,有望为致命疾病提供有效的预防性疫苗。

TRIMER-TAG©靶向及免疫肿瘤治疗与Fc融合蛋白

三叶草生物的肿瘤研究项目在锁定关键途径方面具有重大前景,这些途径有可能为中国乃至全球的社区提供急需的肿瘤治疗选择。

SCB-313

SCB-313针对癌细胞凋亡,用于治疗包括恶性腹水,恶性胸腔积液和腹膜癌。 SCB-313是一种新型的融合蛋白,由TRAIL(与TNF相关的细胞凋亡诱导配体)和专有的Trimer-Tag©组成,可以使TRAIL形成稳定的共价三聚体。 在许多肿瘤中选择性表达的TRAIL及其受体必须进行三聚化以触发程序性细胞死亡信号通路。长期以来,TRAIL一直被认为是肿瘤治疗的诱人靶点,因为它可以在许多不同的肿瘤类型中特异性诱导肿瘤细胞凋亡。

目前正在澳大利亚和中国进行5项开放、剂量递增、多中心试验的SCB-313临床研究(澳大利亚2项试验,中国3项试验),以评估腹膜内或胸模内注射的安全性、耐受性、药代动力学和初步疗效。 胸/腹膜内注射SCB-313作为单药治疗恶性腹水,恶性胸腔积液或腹膜癌。

在临床前研究中,与二聚体TRAIL激动剂相比,SCB-313已证明在多种人类肿瘤模型中具有诱导凋亡的有效能力,且具有良好的安全性和数倍的优越效力。

SCB-333

SCB-333涉及一种由4-1BBL(CD137配体,天然三聚体)和专有的Trimer-Tag©组成的新型融合蛋白,可使4-1BBL形成稳定的共价结合的三聚体融合蛋白。 4-1BB在活化T细胞上的活化可刺激肿瘤特异性细胞毒性T细胞的增殖和存活,并促进先天免疫记忆反应的发展。 SCB-333具有良好的药代动力学特性和天然的受体激活能力,使其有可能克服其他4-1BB靶向候选物所观察到的剂量限制的严重肝毒性。 4-1BB是最有前途的免疫共刺激目标之一,有可能与检查点抑制剂疗法(例如anti-PD-1/antiPDL1)结合使用,以协同刺激免疫系统的抗肿瘤反应。

Fc融合蛋白

Fc融合蛋白的开发是当前三叶草生物研发管线中的重要领域。Fc融合蛋白项目包括SCB-808,SCB-420和SCB-219。

SCB-808

SCB-808作为依那西普( Enbrel®)生物类似药,采用可立即注射的预填充包装,用于强直性脊柱炎和类风湿关节炎等。中国目前所有可用的国内生产的依那西普生物仿制药均仅被批准为冻干粉剂,不方便注射,而SCB-808为即用剂型,便于患者在家中自行注射(前期经医生批准和注射指导)。

三叶草生物目前已在中国成功完成了SCB-808的1期临床研究,在健康受试者中评估了药代动力学特征,安全性和免疫原性,与依那西普(Enbrel®)显示了相似性;目前,正在开展SCB-808的3期多中心临床试验,通过皮下给药,评估SCB-808和依那西普(Enbrel®)对强直性脊柱炎(x线轴向脊柱炎)患者的疗效、安全性和药代动力学特征。

SCB-420

SCB-420是一种aflibercept生物类似药,目前正在临床前开发中,用于治疗湿性年龄相关性黄斑变性(wet AMD)。临床试验预计在2021年启动。

SCB-219

SCB-219是目前处于临床前开发阶段的新型TPOR激动剂,用于治疗原发免疫性血小板减少症(ITP)和肿瘤化疗相关性血小板减少症(CIT)。临床试验预计在2021年启动。

1. https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/medicine-and-dentistry/
subunit-vaccine#:~:text=Subunit%20vaccines%20are%20composed%20of,biochemical%20or%20recombinant%20DNA%20technologies.
2. https://chemistry-europe.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/cmdc.201200487
3. https://www.vaccines.gov/basics/types

Pipeline

Innovation is the driving force for the continuous advancement of Clover Biopharmaceuticals. We develop and deliver brand new medicines to treat society’s most debilitating diseases and meet urgent public health needs around the world. Enabled by the Trimer-Tag© platform technology, the current Clover pipeline includes many vaccine and therapeutic candidates in development for the treatment of infectious disease, cancer and autoimmune disease.

Clover’s R&D efforts are ever-expanding, and in addition to our current programs, we are evaluating other trimerization-dependent disease targets to address using our proprietary Trimer-Tag© technology.

Our Pipeline

SCB-808 (Etanercept Prefilled Syringe) TNFRII-Fc Ankylosing Spondylitis (AS) Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) SCB-420 (Aflibercept) VEGFR1R2-Fc Wet Age-related Macular Degeneration (wAMD) SCB-219 (Novel) TPO Mimetic-Fc Bispecific Chemo-Induced Thrombocytopenia (CIT) Idiopathic Thrombocyto Purpura (ITP) Fc-Fusion Proteins Discovery Preclinical/CMC IND/CTA Phase 1 Phase 2 Phase 3 SCB-340 OX40L-Trimer (Immune Agonist) Immuno-Oncology SCB-333 4-1BBL-Trimer (Immune Agonist) Immuno-Oncology SCB-313 Peritoneal Carcinomatosis TRAIL-Trimer(Immune Agonist) SCB-313 Malignant Plearal Effusions SCB-313 Malignant Ascites Targeted Immuno Oncology Trimer-Tag© Discovery Preclinical/CMC IND/CTA Phase 1 Phase 2 Phase 3 HIV/AIDS Vaccine gp120-Trimer HIV/AIDS Vaccine Influenza Vaccine HA-Trimers Quadrivalent Seasonal Flu Vaccine Pandemic Flu Vaccine RSV Vaccine RABV F-Trimer RSV Vaccine Rabies Vaccine RABV G-Trimer Rabies Vaccine Endemic Coronavirus Vaccine Undisclosed Endemic Coronavirus Vaccine S-Trimer COVID-19 Vaccines SARS-CoV-2 S-Trimer COVID-19 Pandemic Vaccine Subunit Vaccines Trimer-Tag© Discovery Preclinical/CMC IND/CTA Phase 1 Phase 2 Phase 3

Vaccine Programs

At Clover, we are committed to helping to control the world’s most urgent public health challenges. We believe that we can better respond to public health emergencies by rapidly developing protein-based vaccines at a large scale which we aim to make accessible to populations in need. Amid the COVID-19 pandemic, we have quickly enabled our proprietary Trimer-Tag© technology to develop a potentially safe and effective vaccine for the global population. In addition, we are also leveraging the Trimer-Tag© technology to develop rabies, influenza, respiratory syncytial virus (RSV) and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) vaccines.

The COVID-19 S-Trimer Vaccine Program

Key Advantages

  • Protein-Based Approach: Protein-based vaccines have already been tried and proven to be safe and effective (influenza, shingles, Hep B, etc.), and their production can be rapidly scaled-up to large quantities using well-characterized manufacturing processes. Protein-based vaccines also have the benefit of being compatible with a diverse range of adjuvants which can potential strengthen the protective effects of vaccines.
  • Neutralizing Immune Response: In a Phase 1 clinical trial, Clover’s COVID-19 vaccine induced levels of neutralizing antibodies which were higher than in people previously infected with SARS-CoV-2. In addition, strong Th1-biased cell-mediated immune responses were observed.
  • Safety: In the Phase 1 clinical trial, Clover’s COVID-19 vaccine demonstrated a favorable safety profile which appears to be differentiated from vaccines produced using other approaches (e.g. mRNA and vectored vaccines)
  • Scalability: Clover has in-house manufacturing capabilities to produce potentially over 1 billion doses of the COVID-19 S-Trimer antigen annually.
  • Storage & Distribution: Clover’s COVID-19 vaccine can be stored under standard refrigeration conditions (2-8 oC) making it convenient to distribute globally.

Key Milestones

Rabies, Influenza, RSV And HIV Programs

Clover has developed recombinant subunit trimer vaccines for Rabies, influenza, RSV and HIV with our Trimer-Tag© technology and has demonstrated that they evoke protective neutralizing antibody responses in multiple animal models.

The rabies vaccine candidate (RABV G-Trimer) is currently in early-stage development. There is a high unmet need for rabies vaccines in developing countries, where animal immunization programs have been unsuccessful.

The influenza vaccine candidate (Hemagglutinin (HA)-Trimer) has demonstrated proof-of-concept HAI immunogenicity and viral-challenge results in vivo in mice (pandemic and seasonal). There is a significant speed of production advantage (shortened lead times) and no use of toxic chemicals such as formaldehyde and preservatives. In addition, the vaccine candidate can potentially be used as a pandemic and universal (HA-stem) flu vaccine.

The RSV vaccine candidate (Fusion (F) Antigen-Trimer) induced strong neutralizing antibody response in a rat immunization model and has sub-picomolar binding affinity to palivizumab. There is a significant unmet need for a safe and effective RSV vaccine worldwide as no RSV vaccines are currently approved.

The HIV/AIDS vaccine candidate (gp120-Trimer) demonstrates strong binding affinity to broadly-neutralizing neutralizing antibodies (bNAbs), suggesting preservation of important antigenic epitopes, and gp120-trimers have induced bNAb responses in vivo in the rabbit immunization model. Current progress made in AIDS vaccine research has revealed that native-like trimeric gp120 is the preferred antigen for eliciting broadly neutralizing antibodies (bNabs) and could hold promise for an effective prophylactic vaccine for the deadly disease.

Immuno-Oncology And Fc-Fusion Proteins

Clover’s oncology programs hold significant promise in targeting critical pathways that have the potential to provide much-needed options for oncologic therapies to communities around the globe.

SCB-313

The SCB-313 program targets cancer apoptosis for the treatment of intracavitary oncology indictions(including malignant ascites, malignant pleural effusions and peritoneal carcinomatosis). SCB-313 is a novel fusion protein consisting of TRAIL (TNF-related apoptosis-inducing ligand) and the proprietary Trimer-Tag©, allowing TRAIL to form a stable covalently-trimerized complex. TRAIL receptors, which are selectively expressed on many tumors, must be trimerized in order to trigger the programmed cell death signaling pathway. TRAIL has long been considered a tantalizing target for cancer therapy because it can induce apoptosis in a tumor-specific manner across many different tumor types.

SCB-313 is currently being tested in five open-label, dose escalation, multi-center trials in Australia and China (two trials in Australia, three trials in China) to assess the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics and preliminary efficacy of intraperitoneally or intrapleurally administered SCB-313 as a single-agent for the treatment of malignant ascites, malignant pleural effusion or peritoneal malignancies.

In preclinical studies, SCB-313 has demonstrated potent ability to induce apoptosis in multiple human tumor models with a favorable safety profile and multi-fold superior potency compared to a dimeric TRAIL agonist.

SCB-333

The SCB-333 program involves a novel fusion protein consisting of 4-1BBL (CD137 Ligand, naturally trimeric) and the proprietary Trimer-Tag©, allowing 4-1BBL to form a stable covalently-bound trimeric fusion protein. Activation of 4-1BB on activated T cells stimulates proliferation and survival of the tumor-specific cytotoxic T cells and promotes development of the innate immune memory response. SCB-333 has a favorable pharmacokinetic profile and natural receptor-activating potency, allowing it to potentially overcome dose-limiting severe hepatic toxicities observed with other 4-1BB targeted candidates. 4-1BB is one of the most promising immune costimulatory targets with the potential to be combined with checkpoint inhibitor therapies (e.g. PD-1) to synergistically stimulate the immune system’s anti-tumor response.

SCB-340

SCB-340 is a trimeric fusion protein consisting of OX40L, engineered using the Trimer-Tag© platform technology and are currently in early stage development.

FC-Fusion Proteins

The development of Fc-Fusion proteins is an important field in the current Clover R&D pipeline. The Fc-Fusion protein program is comprised of SCB-808, SCB-420 and SCB-219.

SCB-808

SCB-808 is a biosimilar to Enbrel® (etanercept) being developed as a ready-for-injection prefilled syringe formulation for use in ankylosing spondylitis and rheumatoid arthritis. All currently available domestically produced etanercept biosimilars in China are approved as freeze-dried powder formulations only. SCB-808 is ready-for-injection and can potentially be self-administered by patients in the convenience of their own homes.

Clover has successfully completed a Phase 1 clinical trial of SCB-808 in China to assess the pharmacokinetics, safety and immunogenicity of subcutaneously administered SCB-808 and originator drug Enbrel® in healthy volunteers. A Phase 3 multi-center clinical trial of SCB-808 is currently being conducted in China to assess the efficacy, safety and pharmacokinetics of SCB-808 and originator drug Enbrel® in patients with ankylosing spondylitis (radiographic axial spondylarthritis) via subcutaneous administration.

SCB-420

SCB-420 is an aflibercept biosimilar currently in preclinical development for the treatment of wet age-related macular degeneration (wAMD). Clinical trials are expected to initiate in 2021.

SCB-219

SCB-219 is a novel TPOR agonist currently in preclinical development for the treatment of immune thrombocytopenic purpura (ITP) and chemo-induced thrombocytopenia (CIT). Clinical trials are expected to initiate in 2021.

1. https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/medicine-and-dentistry/
subunit-vaccine#:~:text=Subunit%20vaccines%20are%20composed%20of,biochemical%20or%20recombinant%20DNA%20technologies.
2. https://chemistry-europe.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/cmdc.201200487
3. https://www.vaccines.gov/basics/types